Screenplay writing – work for hire

I am hard at work on a screenplay a local producer hired me to write. It is based on his good idea, and he even went to the trouble of writing a short story…though he admits he is not a writer. I’ve never done a work-for-hire screenplay, only spec work….so it is an interesting and exciting challenge. And it’s a comedy….ooof. Most of my spec scripts are pretty dark-humored, but he liked my style, ideas and the trailer I wrote and shot for I Am the Alien. The producer also wanted to publicize the fact that he is developing a film…but I don’t know how and where one does that. Anybody out there have any thoughts on that?

Leave a Reply

